Podiatry competency standards

The Podiatry competency standards outline the minimum knowledge, skills and professional attributes necessary for safe, independent practice as podiatrist.

The eight key areas are:

  • Competency Standard 1: Practise podiatry in a professional manner
  • Competency Standard 2: Continue to acquire and review knowledge for ongoing clinical and professional practice improvement
  • Competency Standard 3: Communicate and interrelate effectively in diverse contexts
  • Competency Standard 4: Conduct patient/client interview and physical examination
  • Competency Standard 5: Analyse, interpret and diagnose
  • Competency Standard 6: Develop a patient/client-focused management plan
  • Competency Standard 7: Implement and evaluate management plan
  • Competency Standard 8: Provide education and contribute to an effective health system

Podiatry competency standards (241 KB,PDF)

Page reviewed 16/07/2019